My Personal profile for the EJU L4 Performance Coach Award & Foundation Degree in Sports Coaching (European Judo Union)

As part of the  EJU course mentioned above I will be using my blog to form part of one of my assignments on the applied pedagogy in Judo coaching. I thought I would add my personal profile to the blog to give a brief introduction. I am a 41 year old Judo coach based in the West Midlands England. I am employed by the University of Wolverhampton as a Judo coach/Judo development officer and I am the head coach the local community Judo club. I have practiced Judo now for 30 years, I was a competitive Junior judoka and represented my country with the Amateur Judo Association. Most of my adult judo career was spent training at the world famous Wolverhampton Judo club with head coaches Mac Abbotts and Dave Brookes. I fought as a senior player but was not too successful, however I did compete in the World masters events in Arizona USA Gold Medal, Austria 5th place, Prague and the European Team Championships in Moscow 5th Place. After I stopped competing I decided to start a community club at the University campus where my club coaching led me to a full time coaching position for the University. During the past seven years I have developed a player pathway for Judoka from schools to recreational Judo and now the Advanced apprenticeship scheme for full time athletes competing at a national level. Over the past 2 years i have been attending the EJU level 4 course now hosted by Anglia Ruskin University to improve my judo knowledge.

http://www.anglia.ac.uk/ruskin/en/home/microsites/judo1.html

Leave a Reply

